Officials from the National Weather Service (NWS) Central Illinois Forecast Office in Lincoln declared Champaign County a Storm Ready® County during a presentation at the Tuesday December 11th County Board meeting.  This award has only been given to 18 other counties in Illinois. The award is in recognition of the County EMA and local agencies active planning, training and preparedness for weather related emergencies.

The award was presented by Chris Miller, Warning Coordination Meteorologist for the National Weather Service, Lincoln, and accepted by Champaign County Board Chair Alan Kurtz, Champaign County EMA Director, John Carlson, Champaign County EMA Deputy Director, John Dwyer, and Champaign County EMA Public Information Officer Rick Atterberry.

{gallery rows=1 cols=2}storm_ready{/gallery}

StormReady® is a registered trademark used by NOAA.

Facebook Image


(Click To Enlarge)

Champaign Forecast

Hazardous Weather Outlook